Red

Today I saw two bright red tomatoes. Just there, as I drove into the parking lot at the market. There, bright red against the grey blacktop. Beautiful. Red. Perfect. Lost.

I drove on. And parked. And shopped. I did not purchase bright red tomatoes, although I did purchase brilliant green peas, and sweet yellow corn.

Leaving the market, I drove out the way I’d come in. I saw two bright red tomatoes, there, just waiting. No bird had been tempted, no bugs were swarming.

I’ve washed the two bright red tomatoes. Beautiful. Red. Perfect. Found.

I'm listening

