Tis the Season

To be busy…

This past week, my time seems to have been chopped into little bits of extreme action followed by the need to escape into mindless noodling. As a result, I’m not completing the items on the list that I have for ME (i.e. learning this blogging thing, creating some art, taking a photo or two), but am getting the chores done that affect the job and the fambly.

On the bright side, I’m not beating myself up over it either. Progress.

Seems appropriate that with these thoughts this morning that today’s reverb is this:

December 20Beyond Avoidance: What should you have done this year but didn’t because you were too scared, worried, unsure, busy or otherwise deterred from doing? (Bonus: Will you do it?)
(Author: Jake Nickell)

I’d like to change one word up there, Jake–What could I have done…

I can think of a bazillion things that I could have done but didn’t because I was “otherwise deterred” –and doesn’t that cover a multitude of reasons! Distracted by shiny objects in the distance, by the siren song of a novel, surfing through the words and photos on my favorite blogs…

Digital page words best me
I resolve…

So moving into 2011, this is what I can do:

Scan family photos

Separate the wheat from the chaff in the papers from my parents’ home

Take a painting class

Learn 10 new computer/Photoshop skills

Become more proficient at editing my photos (again, that wheat from chaff thing)

Five things to keep in the front of the action list. These five things are the jumping off point for much of the other things that I want to accomplish–merging my digital art with “live” art, getting the stories and photos of our family history into a published document, and cleaning away the excess that sneaks into the apartment and hard drive. Sounds like a plan to me!

I'm listening

