Catching Up – Reflect and Manifest

Reflecting on 2010 with intentions for 2011…I’ve been writing mine on the side as I play with the settings on this here new blogging bit.

December 7Community: Where have you discovered community, online or otherwise, in 2010? What community would you like to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2011?
(Author: Cali Harris)

As an introvert, community for me is hard. This year, I’ve come to realize that being part of a community of like minded and inspiring women is critical for my growth. Having people who encourage me, confront me lovingly, hold me accountable, and allow me to encourage them and give back isn’t just something that is nice for the short term—it’s life changing. I’ve found community online through blogs, through classes, and through groups, and I found it, live and in person, overflowing at Squam by the Sea.

For 2011, I am committing to keeping and strengthening these connections, and regaining some that I have lost through inattention and silence.

December 6Make.
What was the last thing you made? What materials did you use? Is there something you want to make, but you need to clear some time for it?
(Author: Gretchen Rubin)

Now I guess I could say the most recent thing I have made is this blog. (Used my Mac! and online tutorials!)

But truly, I was so excited by playing with paint at Squam by the Sea in October that I got all prepared at home with supplies and such, and started gathering photos for transfers, but still haven’t done anything. My excuses: with a one bedroom apartment and a cat who eats anything lying about (paper, string, plastic bags, the cotton batting from the couch…you can add up the vet bills!), I haven’t wanted to get things out only to have to clean up a short while later. I’m dreaming of a studio, a room with a door I can close, a place to spread out…

And I have had more away-from-home events starting with that trip in October—all good, but still away—that between those, the full time job, and family commitments, I have only wanted to veg and loll about when at home. This past weekend was the first that I’ve had without something or someone on my calendar.

I’m going to pat myself on the back for doing the blog work, and NOT beat myself up for not doing the art.

December 5Let Go.
What (or whom) did you let go of this year? Why?
(Author: Alice Bradley)

Negative thinking. Gossip. Complaining. Whining.

I wish I could say that I’m an expert, and never slip back into the old habits. What I can say is that I have become acutely aware when I do fall into those habits, and am more likely to pull myself out of the thoughts or remove myself from the conversation than I was a year ago. And when I indulge in a little gossip or complaining, it just doesn’t feel good at all.

Thank you, Christine!

December 4Wonder.
How did you cultivate a sense of wonder in your life this year?
(Author: Jeffrey Davis)

I believe that there is something wonderful in every moment; each moment is fresh and new and clean– it’s just a matter of being open and accepting all that is offered. Looking at the world with eyes wide open, seeing everything as if for the first time. Somehow, I forgot this at the beginning of 2010, and found myself caught up in frustration and negative thinking.

I can tell you exactly where I was when the light bulb went on and I did a complete 360. Doors began to open, miracles occurred, life expanded in ways I could not have imagined. Opportunities for travel, for classes, for self-exploration and growth presented themselves, and I took full advantage!

December 3Moment.
Pick one moment during which you felt most alive this year. Describe it in vivid detail (texture, smells, voices, noises, colors).
(Author: Ali Edwards)

Many good moments to pick from—and isn’t that a magnificent thing!

Stuck in my mind right now, though, is the bus transfer at 125th Street.

graffiti art new york
125th at 5th

I love to take the bus from La Guardia into Manhattan, transferring to the M1 that goes straight down 5th Avenue, past the lush wonderland of Central Park, down Museum Mile, through the hustle and bustle of commercial Midtown, and then home to the Lower East Side. (Yes, I know I don’t have a true residence in NYC, but it’s still home in my heart!)

What better way to see so many of the different “villages” that make the City what it is? And what better way to soak in all the sights and sounds and smells?

December 2 – Writing.
What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing — and can you eliminate it?
(Author: Leo Babauta)

I procrastinate. I justify the why I don’t/can’t. I tell myself it’s not as important as other tasks and busy work.

In reality, I know that when I write, doors open. My mind is cleared of the cobwebs.

But it’s like exercising—just thinking about it doesn’t reap the benefits.

Starting the blog may help with this little issue…

December 1 – One Word.
Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you?
(Author: Gwen Bell)

One word: Growth. Spiritual growth, personal growth, artistic growth, growing in understanding, growing in learning to love unconditionally, growing in setting boundaries.

Word for 2011: Action. Still a point of frustration for me. I dream grand dreams, plan big plans, even set out reasonable and small ones, and then fail to take the action to bring them to fruition. Fear of success is still an obstacle, as well as the nagging perfectionism.

I'm listening

